8/13

Hi everyone,

Just got back from settling Mom in at Good Shepard. I am so excited for the next chapter of this journey to begin. But this place is NO joke and Mom has no idea what she is in for tomorrow morning. She will be staying in room 300, on the 3rd floor of the Rehab Hospital. I do have a phone number but I left it in the car so I will send it out tomorrow. Follow 7th street all the way to Good Shepard and it is easiest to stay left and park in the parking garage. They seem nice, but mean business. She will receive at least 3 hours of rehab tomorrow as long as she can handle it. They already gave her a new smaller trach, so they are hoping she can attempt to talk again tomorrow with the paci muir. They said that trach will probably be gone in 2 weeks, so that is good. When I asked what to wear, they said work out clothes. So when we are there, if we are there during rehab hours, it is all hands on deck! People, I have been told that this is the time she needs us the MOST. She will be exhausted, emotional, super depressed and needs cheerleaders reminding her to keep her chin up and do her best so she can get outta there. I can not be there as much as I would like to be because Brent is back traveling and I have the kiddos so I’m only averaging about 2 hours a day so PLEASE visit if you can. Visiting hours are from 10 am to 8 pm. They do not seem strict because she is in a room by herself for now, so they said just call security and someone will let you in. It was hard leaving the hospital which seems weird to me, but after almost a month, it became home for Mom, but I am anxious to see what they are going to do to help Mom return to ‘baseline’. If you visit, please let me know how it goes! And as always, let me know if you have any questions.
Thank you everyone for all of your support during this extremely difficult time. I can not wait to tell Mom how many people love her and are praying for her. She would be blown away.
d
Leave a Reply

