8/3

Hi guys,

Today I had a hilarious visit with my Mom! But first, she is doing so freaking awesome! She has been breathing on her own *completely* since 5:30 PM yesterday! Huge!!! If she keeps that up for 72 hours, it’s kinda a big deal. So that’s exciting! They completely stopped her 3% which was the only thing keeping her in NSICU and are running some tests to see how she is doing with that. Other than that the only IV she has is come liquids because she isn’t drinking anything right now so they are keeping her hydrated. She has a little infection but they are treating it with some simple antibiotics. She got her helmet and it is PINK! LOL! She is one stylish Momma! I haven’t seen her with it on yet, but heard she *may* hate it 🙂 Oh well! Her swelling is for the most part gone. She looks amazing! Her staples were still in but the clippers were there to remove them so who knows if that is happening tonight or not. And she may even get out of there, and head to the Good Shepard on 5th street as soon as MONDAY where she will receive 3 hours of therapy a day! Holy MOLY! It hasn’t even been 3 weeks so pretty thrilled.
During my visit she just looked happy, like her old self sort of so it was great to see. She winked at my TWICE! Once I forget why, but the other time a doctor was trying to get her to do stuff. She was staring at me with a little smirk and was completely ignoring the doctor and WINKED at me! Cracked up!!! And then she kept lifting her arm up while looking at me. I don’t know, thought maybe she wanted to touch my face or something so I went in close with my fat old head to hers…and she lightly grabbed my nose and honked it! Then she lightly grabbed (she cant really grab too hard yet) it and started moving her hand back and forth moving my HEAD back and forth for a while. She must have done that at least 10 times. OMG. I was cracking up! She was smiling and kept doing it and doing it. WEIRD I know, right?! But I will take it! I am still laughing! And boy, does she have a lot to say. Her lips are moving a mile a minutes. A song came on during a commercial and she was tapping her leg and bobbing her head. Still not sure she knows who I am, but at this point, I am fine with that. She will look at me, seem to recognize me, and then two seconds later look at me like I just scared the living day lights out of her. She still drifts off in to space. She still does some strange stuff, but this is all expected. But overall, it was just a really fun, light hearted visit and I saw, for the first time, a glimmer of my old Mom in there. Makes me the happiest I have been in a long time. 🙂 🙂 🙂 I am finally realizing that this is going to be ok 🙂 🙂 🙂 Slow as HELL, but Ok! ‘
Please also throw an extra prayer in there for my brother who just got bronchitis. Have a good one! If I don’t write tomorrow its just because I am going on a date with my hubby 🙂
d
Leave a Reply

