11/7 ~ Poem

Hi guys and gals!

Said I wasn’t going to write until after the breakfast. I lied 😉 I hope my picture didn’t offend anyone yesterday. Just our sick Slifer sense of humor trying to make the best of an impossibly difficult situation. If it is hard for you to swallow, imagine how hard it would be if she was your Mom/Memaw. It’s rough stuff, but if you don’t laugh, you cry. And I’m sick of crying 😊

Next, I’m not sure exactly how this raffle is going down, but I do know that you don’t need to be present to win and the winners will selected at 12:30 PM or the end of the breakfast.

And finally, my amazing cousin, Katie, wrote the most BEAUTIFUL poem about my Mom and her Aunt Linda. Aunt Joanne helped me pack all morning (thank YOU ❤) and brought it with her. I can’t read it without smiling and 😭 at the same time. She did an astounding job. I thought about this poem all day and was excited when she said I could share it. She’s in 7th grade people! Brace yourself!

Aunt Linda
It is love that keeps her fighting
Even through all the strikes of lightning
Her new journey has just begun
So she can once again walk in the sun
She keeps on pushing with all her might
Even when the days don’t look so bright

It is our love that keeps us going
Through this hardship that is unknowing
Watching over with close eyes
We look above toward the skies
Sending a prayer gently flowing
May it be caught in the wind forever blowing

Together our love will help us win this fight
So once again we can feel the sunlight
Her battle is not over yet but she has come so far
I know she will once again be able to reach for the stars
She has become my hero through this whole fight
She is my ending thought every night

Great! I said I was done crying 😉 Awesome job Katie. You nailed it. So proud of you. 😘 Love you so much! Xoxo

Thank you all for your support as always. Again, we couldn’t do it without each and every one of you. So looking forward to seeing so many of you this weekend. Thanks again 💛

3 thoughts on “11/7 ~ Poem

  1. Robin says:

    Beautiful Poem Katie! It really flowed from your heart and soul for your Aunt Linda!!! Love it!!! As far as the picture goes, That’s just the warped sense of humor we all have! When I was there, those fuzzy balls were everywhere in her bed and we ran with it. So you can only imagine what was coming out of our mouths. WE LAUGHED! and thats what we needed to do! When it was time for me to leave, she said, don’t go yet. So I stayed a bit longer. Go and have fun with her. She’s the same gal we love and can joke around with. She is the queen of practical jokes too. So, just a warning, get ready for payback time. ..and she will get even. Just when you think the “waters are still”, that’s when she’ll strike!! LOL! Anyone who is following this post is a family member or friend, so it’s those who don’t understand, you need to let it go. This is a personal page for us created by her family to share with us. Remember that. So, Thank You! Have a nice day and see you this Sunday!!!
    xoxo

  2. Cc says:

    How touching! What a beautiful, sweet poem. So heart warming!!!

  3. Joanne F. says:

    just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

