12/3

Friends!!!! I don’t even know where to begin! Lets start worst to best 😜 well Mom fell today. Smack dab on her darn head. Because she can’t use her left arm, she couldn’t stop it. Hit like a ton of bricks. Her knees like like a two year olds and she has an egg on her noggin. The good news, it was the ‘good’ side! She is fine! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ and she had a cat scan immediately and they didn’t see anything! The bad news, she forgot she was paralyzed and tried to get her remote. Well, she said she tried to get her remote, but the nurse said she didn’t see anything on the floor so who knows. Anyway, she’s fine! Phew! Sooooo – this new lady is my MOM. I mean, she is THERE. More than ever. I am so freaking excited – I don’t even know what to do. She is alive! Her twinkle/spark is back in her beautiful brown eyes! Her eyes are big and open! She’s not the quiet, emotionless, blahhhh person that she was before this surgery. I swear to GOD! She moved her left leg today when I asked her on command. In fact, she lifted it right up off the damn bed! She is concerned about her left fingers curling up and was trying to straighten them with her right hand! I said, Mom, you never cared about this side before! She said, it’s because she never looked left!! She said she hates that her fingers are curling up and needs to call Angel (her therapist at Phoebe) right away!! She said she is sick of laying around and doing nothing! She wants to get up, get out, move around! Maybe a little too much! She used her remote today for the first time I ever saw! Changed channels, adjusted the volume! We had real conversations! She showed emotion when I showed videos of the kids! I mean – she is IN THERE. I’m so happy! So so so happy! She is self aware! She is my MOM! She talks louder. Her sense of humor (and then some) is back! She is louder! Her voice is almost back! She swallowed pills today and is moving to a chopped diet! I could just keep going and going but I think you get it. I’m sorry – I just can’t contain my excitement! I want to get her back to Phoebe and back to rehab and see what this new woman can DO! OMG!!

BUT! She is still very, very confused! Doesn’t know where she is right now. Told me the other day she has three arms (and one is a MAN grabber! LOL). I had to repeat things over and over such as where she is, where phoebe is, how long she’s been there, little things. Big freaking deal! I had to do that last year πŸ˜‰ so, I am over the moon happy! She is feisty though and this is the part that scares me. It’s like she wasn’t alive the past 4 months. She is just now realizing she is paralyzed, and tries to do stuff that she forgets she can’t do. Her filter is super busted. I mean she curses, says people are stupid that she would NEVER talk about, said something semi racist today! Tried to yank her IV out because she thought Max and Molly were on their way in and it would scare them….Yeah! There is still a lot going on, but I will take this fun feisty lady over that lifeless, dull lady ANY day. As long as she can control herself and doesn’t hurt herself. What the heck!!! This is the weirdest thing ever! If you have visited her and notice a difference, please let me know – I don’t want to be delusional here!! Thanks! Gahhhhh! I’m so excited!!

What I’m NOT excited about, is the fact that SSI will pay her less than 19,000 a year. That’s it! Her only source of income. For real. Unbelievable! But it is what it is! We will make it work!!! Even that can’t ruin this happiness 😍😘😍😘 have a wonderful night!! I think I will fall asleep with this stupid smile on my face tonight! And before I go, a huge thanks to my SIL for all of the help packing today! Mwah! πŸ’‹

8 thoughts on “12/3

  1. Cc says:

    Wow!!!!😱fantabulous news!!! So freaking promising to see more and more of the old her! I know u are over the 🌚with happiness! I’m excited to hear all the progress! Very awesome! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ˜œ

  2. Marianne Dogmanits says:

    πŸ™‚

  3. Alex says:

    Such awesome news. I’m SOOOO happy for her, for you and your family. πŸ™‚

  4. Carol Bastin says:

    Hi Dana. I’ve missed you the past two times I visited your mon at the hospital. I saw her on Friday, and she brought tears to my eyes. I hadn’t seen her in such a long time since I’ve been recovering from my knee replacement surgery. She woke up while I was there. I said, “Hi, Linda. It’s Pastor Carol.” She said, “I know it’s you Pastor Carol. How’s our knee?” I had tears streaming down my face as I realized how far she had come. It was so wonderful to hear her talking so clearly. I saw her again today. I realized today that she does have some confusion. She told me she was in church two weeks ago. But there were so many other things that she was clear about. God has worked such miracles in her lives, and I believe He has many more in store for her. We talked today about our deal to go to a county music concert together. I told her she would have to behave since I’m a minister! She told me she thought I had it in me to let loose and get rowdy. She may be right! Keep us posted on what’s going on, and we’ll keep praying for her, along with all the folks at St. Paul’s.

    Pastor Carol

  5. Robin says:

    We noticed that sparkle in her eyes too! When she smiles, both sides of her mouth curl up, so looks like the paralysis on her face is improving big time! She had mentioned a couple of things that sounded a bit confusing, like trying to escape and she almost got away, but they caught her. She made it sound so real like she really did! She’s a prankster, so look out for those paybacks! LOL! She also said no more headaches! All I can say is Just WOW! This is absolutely amazing. What a joyful celebration. Her life is a gift! This just maybe the best Christmas yet! She’s on her way back … full speed ahead!!! Happy Happy Joy Joy!!! xoxo

  6. Mary C says:

    Dana, Wonderful news! Prayers are working, Never, Never, Never Give Up!! Thank God! I hope you enjoy this beautiful day! The sun in shining! Say hello to your mother! Hugs !!

  7. Dana Miller says:

    Thank you ALL for your excitement!! This is pretty awesome! I have so SO much HOPE!! Love your stories! Makes me feel not so crazy! What is see is real!! πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Leave a Reply

