12/10

Hi Guys and Gals!

Had another episode today! Momma took another spill and whacked her head off the wall. Was sent to the ER for a cat scan. My brother and I both saw her there and she was so darn cute. She ended up being fine and she was hilarious! Said she went her whole life w/o seeing stars and saw them twice in one week! LOL! ā­ But then it got a little serious. She still thinks she can walk. I don’t know how to handle her. Sometimes I play along, and some times I tell her she’s being crazy so to speak. Today, when she told us she is ok, once she gets up, I asked her is she still thinks she can walk. She said yes! I said Mom, you can’t walk. You haven’t been able to walk since July and tears start streaming down my cheeks even though I’m doing my darnedest to stop them. Then she looked like she was going to cry and said, but I’ve walked my whole life! šŸ˜¢ And I said, I know, and I know it’s easy to forget, because I still do sometimes too. And for a moment she got it. But I have a message in about a seatbelt on her wheelchair. I’m not sure if she is trying to get out or slides out. Will figure it all out tomorrow. And I’m also hoping to get her upstairs so we will see.

Had a new WONDERFUL contractor at the house! I hope he’s up for the bid because if he is, I know with 100% certainty that I can breathe easy, and Moms house will be taken care of while we are back in Texas! Sure hope so! šŸ™

And now for a little inspiration. I was down in the dumpers this weekend. Packing up your childhood home and your Moms whole world is not fun. Not even a little bit. In fact, it sucks a big fatty. But I need to stay focused on the good and all of the wonderful out there! For example:

A very wonderful and loving friend’s church, had a basket bingo, and raised $1500 for my Mom. I had NO idea!! she called and said she had something for me! Her and her mother came over and handed me a check! Right out of the blue! These people DON’T even know her! Can you believe it? There is so much good!!

Second, a woman that I have met in Texas ONE, yes, that’s ONE time gave the largest donation yet. I want to give this lady all the recognition that she deserves, but also want to respect her privacy. This lady never met my Mom. But she was forwarded my story by a friend, also in Texas. She emailed me and told me what she was willing to do. Instantly, I thought it was a scam. No WAY would someone do this for me or there HAD to be strings attached! But it wasn’t and she did! Big time! She wrote a cashiers check to me and another to my Mom and said that was just to get us started! Are you kidding me? I told her she is my angel on earth and I believe it! I can NEVER repay her but can’t wait to give her the biggest hug when I get to back to Texas! She will never know what she has done for me and my Mom. And I honestly and truly think of her every. single. day. šŸ’š

And finally, Steve Walden, Mom’s realtor, has been amazing! He met my Mom waaaaaaaaaaaaay šŸ˜œ back, when my Mom was a realtor too! They stayed in touch, she processed his loans at Countrywide, but they mostly ran into each other at happy hours. Every knows Momma loves her some happy hours šŸ˜‰šŸ‘šŸ» and he was our realtor for our purchase in PA too. So it’s safe to say he’s a family friend! Do you know how hard this man has worked for Mom! It’s nuts! And to top it all off, he isn’t making ONE cent! Any money he makes above and beyond his fees, he’s putting right back into the Love for Linda Fund! He bought a calendar and have it to MOM! And THEN, he worked the entire breakfast at the fire company less than 2 weeks after having surgery on BOTH feet, cleaning up trash all day long in pain! Seriously people! Call him for your real estate needs ASAP! 610-465-5521/steve@steve-walden.com. This is the stuff that makes me smile and gets me through the tough stuff (most of the time). This and my miracle man and babies!

And finally, thanks for continuing to go through this journey with me and for all of your support. I guess my biggest fear was people forgetting. While everyone else moves on with their lives, Mom is still in the hospital, with half a shaved head, thinking she can walk! We are still hear, with no Christmas decorations but a mini tree on a TV stand, getting ready for anything! It’s been such a long, emotional, painful, never ending road. And I thank you all, for sticking it out with me. šŸ’“ Ok. It was a long day. Peace out! Xo

5 thoughts on “12/10

  1. Dana, I gave up a while back trying to offer my knowledge working in the field. School has had me hopping and, with one last (torturous) exam tomorrow, I’m getting ready to shut down and go to bed. However, I would like to offer a word of advice in working with people with a brain injury or a mental OR physical disability of ANY kind. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE, when you (or anyone else out there reading this message) talk to your Mom about her not being able to walk, PLEASE, make every effort to NOT say, “No Mom, you can’t walk and you haven’t been able to since July.” You and I, and everyone else knows that she can’t. HOWEVER, the most important thing you can do with someone struggling to get better is to GIVE THEM HOPE! A better response, “I know you’re/we’re working on that Mom and I BELIEVE that you will again too.” Don’t tell her that she can’t. Tell her that you know she will again. By downplaying the negative side of it but by saying you believe in her – THAT’S the most important thing that you can do for her. I am looking forward to seeing her in just 10 short days!!! ā¤

    • Dana Miller says:

      Thanks again for your advice, Sharon. Of course, I gave her lots of positives. This wasn’t the entire conversation – but a summary. I said many things like you can’t walk now, but it doesn’t mean you never are again! You may be able to walk again in the very near future with some hard work. Most people assume/know that I am very positive in front of my Mom. I keep all of the hard stuff out of her room – always have, always will. She has no idea what I am going trough and I’m going to keep it that way. I don’t know what you meant by saying you gave up giving me knowledge/advice a long time ago. I know you were in the field. You have been in many fields! I heard everything you have told me so far and appreciate everyone’s advice šŸ˜‰ just happens that I have to take all of this advice, do my own research and make very hard decisions with it. I’m sure she’s excited to see you very soon as well. Have a good night.

  2. Cc says:

    Thinking of u… šŸ™‚

  3. Joanne F. says:

    made me cry…….we dont hear enough about the kind and caring people of this world, how truely wonderful xxxoooo

  4. Linda says:

    You know if she believes it, she will do it! She is a very determined person. She has the faith and that’s all she needs. Never say never! She will walk again! Maybe with a limp or not the same, but I know Linda, she will walk!

Leave a Reply

