2/12

Hi friends! Hope all is well in your world. As always – a lot is going on in ours. 😳 We, for the most part, are settling in nicely to our new home. Still tons of boxes to sort through, but those can wait. The kids are loving their new rooms and are just the light of my life. They are so amazing and truly reminders, that even on my worst days, I am so so blessed to have such beautiful, healthy, smart little people to raise πŸ’“ Brent is working his butt of this month in LA, CA, NV…all over the place during the week and then the other half of his butt is worked off at the house on the weekends – so thankful for that man. We had many ‘surprises’ this first week and a half to deal with here so it’s been exciting to say the least. Hopefully, this will be the last move for a long time! πŸ‘πŸ”«πŸ˜‰

Mom, on the other hand, is doing very well. Friday was so nerve wracking. I was really questioning this plan, what the heck I was thinking, could we handle this…the whole deal. But on Saturday morning when we went to shovel the walk, and saw her sweet face, drinking coffee, in her own home, out of her own mug, smiling from ear to ear a real, honest to God smile, I knew it was what needed to be done. I would go visit, in the middle of the day at Phoebe (which we still loved – don’t get me wrong) and in the middle of a sunny day, she would be laying in bed, no TV or nothing, starring into space. Now THAT is something I can’t live with. She didn’t seem happy. She seemed to be giving up – like they told me she would. 😒 NOW – she looks alive! She seems to have hope backs. She looks completely different – like her spark is back. The kids even ask to go there. She had so many visitors throughout the weekend that she was wore out!! πŸ‘ Just like I was praying for!! And MARILYN!! OMG. Where do I start. She is the most magnificent woman I could ever dream of to take care of Mom. I just love her. From the second I met her. I can’t say enough about her. My Mom loves her too – We all just adore her. She’s a gift. She really cares about Mom – you can just see it! She even died her hair πŸ’š Ahhhhh. Another miracle. I have complete peace of mind knowing she’s with Marilyn. But it hasn’t all been easy. She is on medication out of the wazoooo. She has nurses and therapists coming in and out almost every day. And worst of all, and this has me so freaked out – her tailbone is about to pop out. Sorry if that’s to graphic, but I didn’t even know that was possible. She has a Dr appointment that my wonderfully helpful brother is taking her to tomorrow to try to get her off some of the meds because the list is unREAL! She’s so drugged! I’m talking 15ish pills for breakfast. More at lunch, 5 PM and 8 PM. It’s nuts. But she’s eating well. And it seems, that although it will take us all time to get this transition figured out, it is hands down, what needed to happen for Mom. I just feel so good about it. And the house is just perfect. So worth all of the stress and sleepless nights.

Really quick, she has the same phone number she used to have. I don’t know if she will have her cell phone forever because she doesn’t use it so it doesn’t seem like a justified expense at this time. So feel free to call her house any time before 8. And please, stop by, she just loves the visitors. It means so much. To all of us!!

And lastly!! Thank YOU Larrainey, for watching Paco for us. She is so so happy to have her fat little friend home. πŸ˜‰ Good night and sweet dreams. Xo

20130212-210659.jpg

5 thoughts on “2/12

  1. Diane Weston says:

    This is wonderful news! She looks more beautiful than ever! Love you all!!

  2. Jamie says:

    So glad that it is working well with Marilyn. Can’t wait to meet her!

  3. Shelly says:

    So glad to hear that it is going well! You did a wonderful thing and she looks great!

  4. Cristin says:

    awww! Great update! SO HAPPY to hear ALL OF THIS!! Marilyn sounds like the bomb.com!! A hairstylist too? I Love it!! Thats what she needs! Someone to bring back some normalcy and fun to her life!! So happy she is loving it. You guys did an amazing job getting this all set up!

  5. Steph says:

    Dana, could you please send me your mom’s number. I don’t know if I have it. I’d love to chat with her. I need to know when she’s not tied up with therapists and nurses so Scott and I can come to visit. I also need the address!!!!

    Thanks,

    Steph

Leave a Reply

